You are here: Research structure * CSS planning committee

Tell A Friend

Planning Committee for Cattle and Small Stock

The planning committee for Beef and Small stock is appointed by the Planning Committee and consists of subject specialists, industry representative and researchers nominated by universities and research institutions.

This committee moderates and approves the recommendations of the different Working Groups and is responsible for the final acceptance, prioritization and allocation of funds to the different projects. Subject Working Groups exist for the projects which started before 2020 and are based on the 7 Focus areas which were in place. From 2020 after the New Programs have been introduced, new working groups called Program Working Groups have been set up. To read more about these click on the appropriate menu item above.

The Cattle and Small Stock Planning Committee has the following members:

Dr TM Laas (chairman) SAFLA
Prof K Kirkman Specialist researcher
Mr W de Jager SAMPA
Mr T Herselman Specialist researcher
Prof D Holm  HESA-Natural Science
Prof A Hugo Specialist researcher
Mr K Louw SHALC 
Mr FV Nherera-Chokuda NERPO
Dr F Mare HESA-Marketing and Economics
Dr G Neethling  RMAA
Mr D Olivier        SAFA
Prof PW Prinsloo Specialist researcher
Dr M van Kleef ARC-OVI
vacant Specialist researcher
Prof MM Scholtz ARC-API
Mr GM Schutte RPO: Small Stock
Dr MN Selepe DAFF: Large stock
Mrs B Tlhabane (observer) RMRDT
Mrs M van der Merwe SANCU - Consumer Specialist
Mr S van Zyl RPO: Large Stock
Prof EC Webb HESA: Animal Production
Vacant DAFF: Small stock
Vacant Federation of SA Meat Trader
Prof HC Schönfeldt Research Manager RMRD SA
Ms HC Goosen Scribe (Secretary RMRD SA)

The management and administration is the responsibility of Prof HC Schönfeldt, she is the RMRD SA administrator and as such she reports to the RMRDT Project Committee.

Updated May18